Seminar by Department of Physics

March 13, 2020

Seminar by Department of Physics

In order to keep pace with the with the changing world, the Department of Physics, Don Bosco College, Tura organized a Seminar which was presented by all the Physical Science students of 4th Semester Bachelor of Science. The Seminar was held in the Bosco Hall on 12th of March, 2020 at 1.00 pm.

Altogether 31 students presented the seminar in group of four each. The IQAC Coordinator and Convenor of the seminar, Dr Arindam Ghosh has distributed eight topics from the syllabus of 4th semester and formed eight groups. Each group was allotted a topic. The topics were – linear accelerators, cyclotron, betatron, proton synchrotron, ionization chamber, GM counter, scintillation counter and cosmic rays. The seminar was attended by 75 participants and six faculty members including one faculty from the department of Chemistry and from DBCTE.

Mr. Mahidhar Rajbongshi, Head, Department of Physics welcomed the gathering. In his speech, the Principal of the college, Fr Bivan Rodriques Mukhim appreciated the efforts of department of Physics for the successful completion of the National Science Day celebrations, 2020 on the theme “Women in Science”. He also emphasized the need for wholesome education required in the present scenario of the world and Don Bosco College, Tura has always been in the forefront of that.

Miss Rikre R. Marak Assistant Environmental Engineer, Meghalaya State Pollution Control Board, Shillong also spoke on the occasion. She stressed upon the necessity of such seminars in college level and lauded the organizers for arranging such a seminar presented by the students as it helps them to prepare and built self-confidence.

The groups then presented the seminar on each topic. After each group had presented the slides, there were question and answer session. At the end of the presentations of all the groups, Dr Yubaraj Sharma, Assistant Professor, Department of Physics gave a “critical analysis’ of the presentations. He also discussed about the ‘finer tips’ that has to be taken care while presenting such seminars. Others who spoke on the occasion included Dr Arindam Ghosh, Mr. Gaurav Biswas, Mr. Dhiraj Rabha and Dr Deveswori Maiban. The vote of thanks was delivered by Surya Dahal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *